Crispy Spinach

My day started with me jumping out of bed realizing that I had a meeting at office and had to settle my son to school on my way.  The leisure sumptuous breakfast i had planned for my family earlier had to be ditched while I settled for some quick cornflakes and mueslis. The meeting went on well with more responsibilities and projects in my kitty. With some good news coming in and appreciation of work professionally my confidence and mood was on full swing and by the time the professional day was coming to an end, my mind wanted to party and celebrate the day.

On my way home thoughts of food were attacking my brain cells and I wanted to cook something Indian for my husband as he has always been a great inspiration and support to me in life.

I usually maintain a well stocked fridge and pantry, so that I don’t have to think much and waste time on the ingredients available. I wanted something quick and different, but a complete Indian 4 course meal. The moment I landed into my kitchen, I put a large brinjal /eggplant to roast on the flame, began to cut onions and tomatoes for “baingan ka bharta” or “roasted eggplant scramble”. A desert planned was a quick (5 minute) yummy eggless chocolate dryfruit cake. I quickly soaked chana daal (Garbanzo beans) and this is when I discovered a large bunch of spinach and decided to make some quick starter. I tore off the spinach leaves and washed them thoroughly and put them to dry on the kitchen towel.

The one thing about me is my obsessive need to make both my loved ones extra special and happy…


CRISPY SPINACH

Prep time: 2 min | Cooking time: 5 min | Serves: 4 as side dish or starter

  • 500 gms spinach leaves
  • ½ ltr cooking oil for deep frying
  • salt
  • 2 tsp sugar
  • ¼ cup dry white sesame seeds
  • 2 tbsp finely chopped green chillies
  1. Separate spinach leaves from stems and wash thoroughly under running water.
  2. Spread and dry the leaves on a kitchen towel.
  3. For the mixture teat a pan and dry roast sesame seeds till they turn slightly golden in colour. Remove the pan from heat and add green chillies salt and sugar immediately and mix well.
  4. Place a colander with absorbent paper and keep it ready close by.
  5. Heat oil in a deep frying pan till its smoking hot and carefully add spinach leaves in the pan for frying. Fry for a few seconds till the colour of the leaves turn bright green. Note: This need to be done quickly and the leaves should not be allowed to turn brown in colour.
  6. Remove from oil and place in the colander, quickly sprinkle the mixture on the fried spinach and continue cooking or frying the other leaves. Serve immediately.

TIP

Spinach should not be stored more than 3 days in the refrigerator and should be stored in plastic bags. They should not be washed until ready to use.

Leave a Reply

